What Is Tarot?

Like other forms of divination which involve playing cards, the Tarot (pronounced tahro) is a pictograph system; a means of displaying information in a visual form.

Today, the Tarot used in the Occult Sciences and the sphere of the Esoteric totals 78 cards and may be separated into the Major Arcana of 22 cards, and the Minor Arcana of 56 cards and 4 suits: Wands, Pentacles, Swords, Cups.

These 4 suits may be further divided into the Numbered Arcana of numbers 1-10 and the Court Arcana of 16 cards.

This site will use card graphics from the Rider-Waite Tarot deck, published in 1909.

Tarot Links

Your Birth Cards

Major Arcana

Minor Arcana

Back to Astrologon homepage